On November 9, 1990, the school held its first Roeper Gala and Golden Apple Awards. The event was designed to celebrate the school’s 50th anniversary by honoring the school’s founding principle: that each of us should aspire to fulfill our unique potential and harness our gifts to better our community. Each Gala features a keynote speaker who, through vision and deed, inspires, and Golden Apple Awardees, individuals and organizations whose exemplary contributions to the metro Detroit community reflect our Roeper values. The introductions of the award recipients by Roeper students are creative, insightful, frequently humorous, and always moving. The program covers in this gallery celebrate Galas featuring the following keynote speakers. See here for a full list of Golden Apple Award Winners.

1990 Robert Fulghum
1992 Bob Keeshan
1993 Maya Angelou
1995 Beverly Sills

1996 Capt. James A. Lovell, Jr.
1997 James Earl Jones
1998 David Brinkley

1999 Morris Dees
2000 Robert F. Kennedy, Jr.
2001 Arun Gandhi

2004 Frank Deford
2006 Danny Glover
2008 Ed Begley, Jr.

1990 Keynote by Robert Fulghum